The Board of Directors of Optica (formerly OSA) recently elected 129 members from 26 countries to the Society’s 2024 Fellow Class. The selection of Optica Fellows considers several factors, including outstanding contributions to research, business, education, engineering and service to Optica and its community. The Board chose ICREA Professor at ICFO Dr. Maciej Lewenstein for this year’s Fellows Class, recognizing him “for outstanding theoretical contributions to atto-optics, atto-science, quantum optics, and quantum information.”

Fellows are Optica members who have served with distinction in the advancement of optics and photonics. The Fellow Members Committee, led by Chair Ofer Levi, University of Toronto, Canada, reviewed 216 nominations submitted by current Fellows. As Fellows can account for no more than 10 percent of the total membership, the election process is highly competitive. The Fellow Members Committee recommends candidates, and the Awards Council and Board of Directors approve them.

Congratulations to the 2024 class of Optica Fellows,” said Michal Lipson 2023 Optica President. “It is a pleasure to honor these members who are advancing our field and society. We are grateful for their exceptional work and dedication.”

The new Fellows will be honored at Optica conferences and events throughout 2024.

About Optica

Optica (formerly OSA), Advancing Optics and Photonics Worldwide, promotes the generation, application, archiving, and dissemination of knowledge in the field. Founded in 1916, Optica has since established itself as a leading organization for scientists, engineers, business professionals, students, and others interested in the science of light. Moreover, Optica’s renowned publications, meetings, online resources, and in-person activities not only fuel discoveries but also shape real-life applications. Furthermore, these resources accelerate scientific, technical, and educational achievement in the field of optics and photonics.

2024 Optica Fellow